Welcome to the South East Wales Centre for Teacher Education and Training

In September 2009, a formal partnership was launched by the University of South Wales and the Cardiff Metropolitan University to provide Initial Teacher Education and Training (ITET). The South East Wales Centre for Teacher Education and Training (SEWCTET) is one of three regional collaborations across Wales that have been formed in response to a review of Teacher Training provision in Wales led by John Furlong in 2006. That review called for a consolidation of courses and a reduction in the number of providers of ITET across Wales.

The review suggested the collaboration and creation of three separate Centres, based upon partnerships between existing providers:

  • a South-East Wales Centre, to be provided by Cardiff Metropolitan University and the University of South Wales;
  • a South-West Wales Centre, to be provided by Swansea Institute and Trinity College, Carmarthen, and;
  • a North and Mid Wales Centre,  to be provided by the University of Wales, Aberystwyth and the University of Wales, Bangor.

The South-East Wales Centre is managed jointly by the two institutions, both of whom have well-established reputations for the quality of teaching and learning within each School. The Centre will continue to work alongside existing, and new, primary and secondary partnership schools to deliver their programmes.